Chinese Grammar Cop. – I agree with you

Hey! This is Hsiao Laoshi from Georgetown University.

Most English speakers will make many mistakes while trying to speak Chinese. I’m going to list some of them here every two weeks. I hope that will help you improve your Chinese, and make it sound more authentic!! Ok, let’s move on to the number one mistake!

If you want to say “I agree with you”, it should be “我同意你的看法”, which literally means “I agree with your opinion.” Be careful not to use the literal translation from English, “*我跟你同意(I agree with you)*”. 同意 is a transitive verb in Chinese, therefore, it needs an object. Got it? 🙂

—-

我同意你的看法

Wǒ tóngyì nǐ de kànfǎ.

I agree with you.

Leave a Reply

